Lab members

Principal Investigator

Picture 4

Kathlyn Laval, Ph.D
Kathlyn.laval@ugent.be
Research interests: Neurovirology, pathogenesis, immunology, neurodegeneration, animal models
Interests: Running, yoga, nature, travel, raising a borzoi


Graduate students


Picture 1

Ya Gao
Ya.Gao@UGent.be
Research interests: Herpes simplex virus pathogenesis
Interests: Travel, movies, cats


waqar

Waqar Zaib
waqar.zaib@ugent.be
Research interests: PHEV pathogenesis, neuroinflammation, public health
Interests: Cricket, walking, cultural exploring, traveling, and Subject related Professional Guidance


Camille

Camille Kaviani
Camille.Kaviani@UGent.be
Research interests: PHEV pathogenesis, neuroinflammation, one health
Interests: Horse riding, running, travel



Picture1 1

Ahmad Mahmoudikouhi
ahmad.mahmoudikouhi@UGent.be
Research interests: Neurovirology, immunovirology, herpes simplex virus pathogenesis
Interests: Painting, basketball, walking, nature



Picture 5

Sofía González Hernández
sogonzle.GonzalezHernandez@UGent.be
Research interests: HSV1 pathogenesis, neuroinflammation, epigenetics, Alzheimer’s disease
Interests: Swimming, painting, cooking



Picture 7

Febe Lippens
Febe.lippens@ugent.be
Research interests: HSV1 pathogenesis, Alzheimer’s disease
Interests: Acrobatic gymnastics, reading, traveling and trying escape rooms with friends


Undergraduate students


xixi

Xixi Kang
xixi.kang@ugent.be
Research interests: Neurovirology, glia cell activation
Interests: Dog, food, swimming, cleaning



Picture 6

Joren Portaels
Joren.Portaels@UGent.be
Research interests: Viral pathogenesis, immunology, animal health and public health
Interests: Nature, hiking, traveling, animals


Picture 8

Celeste Hilhorst
Celeste.Hilhorst@ugent.be
Research interests: The pathogenesis of Canine Distemper Virus, Multiple Sclerosis disease
Interests: Hiking with my dogs, cooking, animals and bouldering

Picture 1

 Vera den Otter
Vera.denOtter@UGent.be
Research interests: Neurodegeneration, protein aggregation, Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease and prion disease
Interests: Motorcycling riding, plants, animals and nature walks

Unknown

Pauline Laga
Pauline.Laga@UGent.be
Research interests: Epigenetics and genetics, virology, MS, and animal & human health
Interests: Running with my dog, nature, drawing and horse riding



IMG_2168

Ina Van Langenhove
 Ina.VanLangenhove@UGent.be
Research interests: HSV-2 infection, Alzheimer’s disease pathogenesis
Interests: My pets, organizing events, traveling


LaureVanRoy

Laure Van Roy
Laure.VanRoy@UGent.be
Research Interests: Glial cells, Neuroinflammation, Alzheimer's disease
Interests: Running, horseback riding, all fluffy animals, science



Unknown

Anita Yousefi
Anita.Yousefi@UGent.be
Research interests: Alzheimer’s disease, neurovirology, HSV1 pathogenesis
Interests:
Reading, travel, culture, hiking, painting, crocheting

441497264_1070345947933318_9182077728191788347_n

Marie Van Uffelen
Marie.VanUffelen@UGent.be
Research interests: Virology, neurodegeneration, animal and public health
Interests: Music, nature, animals, winter sports


Administrative Staff


Gert

Gert Verdonck, financial administration
g.verdonck@ugent.be




Eva De Spiegelaere,
secretariat
Eva.DeSpiegelaere@UGent.be
RapidWeaver Icon

Made in RapidWeaver